Turning Jet Fuel Into Noise: PT6A Comprehensive Overview Course Day #3

It’s hard to imagine the whine, the roar, the wind, and the smell of an operating turbine engine. Airline passengers are certainly removed from the raw power of aircraft engines. Even most pilots sit inside their comfy airplanes, away from the thrust and noise that I experienced today. It was awesome!

20160914_161713

That’s me running our PT6A runup cart, under the watchful eye of my classmate/coworker Rod. This is an older engine unusable in an aircraft, but when new produces around 675 shaft horsepower. More importantly, it makes lots of wind and noise as it gives us the opportunity to connect classroom/lab learning with actual engine operation.

Our morning began with an oral review of yesterday’s topics. Pepto-Bismol was not on the exam. The coffee hadn’t kicked in, so I’ll blame my lackluster performance on caffeine deprivation. After discussing the oil system and engine start/stop procedure today, we’d be operating a PT6A engine. Granted, it’s an old stand-mounted engine, not an airworthy aircraft powerplant. Still, I was nervous. Even a timed-out PT6A engine is expensive and intimidating.

Fortunately, my classmate/coworker Rod has a plan. He and I will do the runups after our other classmates finish.

20160914_161142

Rod is an excellent teacher, and I know he’ll be an outstanding PT6A instructor. I was his guinea pig today, but he taught engine like a pro.

I’ve always appreciated and respected Rod. We’re both pilot/ mechanics who graduated from LeTourneau University at different times, and we’re both family guys. Just as it’s hard to compare my small 3-child family to his nearly 8 kids, it’s also hard to compare our aviation experience. Since 2014, Rod has been teaching Quest KODIAK pilot courses at Parkwater Aviation, the for-profit subsidiary of Spokane Turbine Center. He has thousands of hours starting, operating, and shutting down PT6As as a previous freight pilot and Alaskan bush pilot/mechanic, and not once has he fried an engine.

So why is a veteran like Rod taking the PT6A Comprehensive Overview course beside a rookie like me? After all, Rod could be TEACHING this course.

Turns out, that’s exactly what he’s preparing to do. He isn’t learning PT6A basics. He’s observing how Ken (our PT6A instructor) is teaching in order to craft his own instructional method. Soon Rod will add PT6A training to his current role of Quest KODIAK course instruction.

Rod needed a guinea pig to practice PT6A engine runup instruction, and I needed more time to get comfortable with the screaming, crazy turbine engine. My classmates each took a turn firing it up under Pauline’s (another Spokane Turbine Center instructor) guidance. As they headed home, Rod and I stepped into the cab.

20160914_153229

I’m actually pretty nervous in this picture. My classmates each took a turn running the PT6A with Pauline before Rod walked me through the process later on.

 

Rod’s voice is calm and reassuring as we brief the startup procedure. As I engage the starter, monitor engine gauges, and introduce fuel… the PT6A awakens. Maybe I’m too focused on not screwing anything up, but on the inside I’m grinning as the fuel ignites and the engine roars. The airplane-loving boy inside me comes alive again as Rod talks me through different power, propeller, and fuel settings. Am I really doing this? Am I really turning jet fuel into power and noise, yet learning so much about this engine in the process?

I’ve talked to many of Rod’s students over my months here. Each identifies him as one of the finest aviation instructors they have ever learned from. Knowing Rod, I understand why: he genuinely cares for everyone just like he is caring about me in this moment. He just serves people well. His neighbors. His students. People in remote villages on the other side of the world. Rod’s love for God breathes life into his passion for others. I only hope the same is noticeably true about me.

20160914_160806

Briefing is a critical step. Before I began turning jet fuel into noise with the PT6A, we both needed to understand exactly what to expect.

Also just like me, he understands that his calling to serve in missionary aviation doesn’t necessarily mean flying to remote villages overseas. He and I are called to support the cause in other ways. In Rod’s case, Parkwater Aviation work helps subsidize missionary aviation training costs while instructing at Spokane Turbine Center directly helps equip them.

Thank you, Rod, for caring about people near you, and those far away. Thank you for all you contribute to missionary aviation. And thank you for helping me turn fuel into noise today.

Spokane Turbine Center changes lives. My name is Jon, and I’m passionate about explaining how we equip missionaries to reach isolated people groups using aviation. As a rusty pilot/mechanic, I’m taking our professional missionary aviation training courses to help tell our story. 

 

7 thoughts on “Turning Jet Fuel Into Noise: PT6A Comprehensive Overview Course Day #3

  1. Pingback: Ken’s Dolphin Video: PT6A Comprehensive Overview Day #4 | Propelling Life

  2. Pingback: The Only American: Quest KODIAK Pilot Familiarization Course Day #1 | Propelling Life

  3. Pingback: Missing Knobs:Quest KODIAK Pilot Familiarization Day #2 | Propelling Life

  4. Pingback: Lessons at the End: Quest KODIAK Pilot Familiarization Day 8 | Propelling Life

  5. Pingback: 7 Ways a Spokane Turbine Center Visit Will Inspire You | Propelling Life

  6. Pingback: A Coffee Mug, $3100, and #OneMoreMissionaryTrained | Propelling Life

  7. Pingback: Why don’t we clear the runway by hand? | Propelling Life

Leave a Reply

